cleverjello's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Who :: Girl's Eyes

My computer monitor is fucked up. Ugh.

This is the last week of work. I'll actually be sad to see it end of it. Because I met some cool people. And we all had some great laughs together.

And I finished my book. It's basically a hodgepodge of lyrics and pictures of my favorite artists. I like the way the actual content of the book came out. But the actual cover pages and binding look kinda icky. Crooked as fuck. Ah well, it's still fine. One of the artists at work (she's an actual ARTIST artist) told me that when she was scanning it, my book took her down memory lane since it's the kind of thing she would have done with her best friend in high school. I thought that was sort of a cool thing to say. ;)

Last Friday, about two hours before I had to be at work, I was in the living room and my dad was watching this movie. I wasn't really paying attention---but then I started hearing the dialogue and what was happening. And I thought "Hey this film seems pretty cool. Like it's the kind of thing I would watch." So I checked what movie it was. Lo and Behold, "Do the Right Thing" was playing.

Which was pretty rad. I've heard such great things about it. So I watched the rest of the movie with my father.
If you want to see Do the Right Thing, just keep in mind that it's a serious movie. Don't expect to see it and feel all light-hearted and happy. NO. This movie makes you fucking THINK. It's makes you think about things you might not want to think about in our society. But still, highly recommended.

And I think I kind of adore Spike Lee. Especially looking at his older movies. First of all, no shit he's a great director. But there's something about him...I don't know. Like when he was in his early films...I happen to think he was, I don't know. There's something about Spike Lee that I found really attractive. First of all he had this intellectual thing going on. I think that's a large part of it. Smart guys are such a turn-on. You will never see me dating an idiot.

And it was partially the short thing too. I think short men are adorable. I've come to find that many of the men I find/found incredibly attractive are either relatively tall {and usually lean}: Conan O'Brien, Ryan Gosling, [younger] Peter Fonda, [younger] Donald Sutherland. Or, relatively short: Spike Lee, Tom Cruise, (younger) Michael J. Fox, Billie Joe Armstrong.

There's just no middle ground.

Hung out with B_____ today. It was cool. She was at the Borders by my house. We both got some iced coffee, talked for a bit then walked around Argyle. At 7:30 she had to get home. She said she'll be at Borders tomorrow. I love her. So much. Sometimes I just get this sudden burst of love for my friends. Because they are amazing. And I consider myself incredibly lucky. B_____, H_____, Heena. I love them so much, I cannot even tell you. At times I've felt loserlike for not making a lot of friends in high school. I really haven't. My closest friends there are T______ and D_____. The rest are mostly acquaintances. And it used to bum me out. But not as much anymore. Because I know my elementary school friends will be lifelong friends.

I was talking to B_____, telling her about how I planned to get my school yearbook this year. Because I didn't get one freshman year, and I told myself I'd get one sophomore year. They were fucking $60. But now I'm reconsidering.

She said that if she were me she wouldn't get one, not for that much money. She said I could just get one senior year. Yeah, true. Imagine. I would have 60 extra dollars that I didn't anticipate on having before. Aw man. That would be great.

I got a new journal on Saturday. Despite the fact that I hadn't finished my first one. It lasted me all freshman year and then some. I want a fresh start as a sophomore. For serious.

It was this really nice purple one. Hardcover, with a velvety surface. And the word "journal" is engraved on the front. It looks really classy. And it was on bargain for $4.99. B_____ got one too---but hers was a maroonish red instead of deep purple.

Still haven't written in it yet. I plan to start tonight, hopefully. B_____ is using her journal as a "Dear Abby" type of thing. When she writes, it'll be a letter to someone (except she's using her journal for fictional purposes). I think that's a fantastic idea. So I will also write to someone. Two people: Sam and Otis. As in Sam Cooke and Otis Redding. Both of those guys bring me a lot of comfort. I don't own shit from either of them (that will change very soon). But still, when I think about spilling my guts out to them, it makes me feel good. I bet they would understand (although both men are dead). I share a birthday with Otis. And it makes me feel like I have a special connection with him.

Haven't mentioned said boy in a while. I still think about him, but I try to do it less. I don't like having crushes, I've come to discover.

Forgot to mention that Do the Right Thing bumped "Fight the Power" a trllion times. And it made me think about how fucking boss Public Enemy is. So afterwards I listened to a bunch of their songs. And the following Saturday I bought Yo! Bum Rush the Show. I've been planning to get it for a while. But after seeing Do the Right Thing I just had to get it immediately. Been to busy to listen to it though. Hopefully I will tonight.

Anyways, I'm off. Later!


8:07 p.m. - 08/06/08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

avant - ensuite

New.

Keep Guessing

archives

drop by?

Make Friends

Alone.

Wild Card

Buddies.