cleverjello's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Paul Baribeau::I Miss That Band

Agust 28th 2008 = history. I'm saving the newspaper about that day. And when this is all over, I'll save the Obama campaign poster hanging in my closet, and all memorabilia relating to this campaign. And years later I'll look back and remember all the history that was made this year.

I really love my headphones. I wear them every time I go on the computer to listen to anything. I'm wearing them now.

I found out something slightly cool a couple days ago: I was born on the exact day of the 1992 VMAs. Yup, September 9th 1992. That was the one, where Nirvana played and they started 'Rape Me' to fuck with MTV execs then went to Lithium? Yeah, while that happened I was born/getting born. I watch the video of it on youtube and think "Hey, I came into the world on this day!" But yeah. Fun.

Otis Blue arrived on Friday, ALL RIGHT! I don't believe I actually grasped the true meaning of soul until I heard this album. Otis, my man...you give me CHILLS! Good chills! That voice, that goddamn voice.

I was listening to his cover of 'A Change is Gonna Come'. This was the day after Obama's historical nomination. Realizing that, while in the middle of the song, was like some crazy epiphany.

I'm very fortunate to share a birthday with that great man. The funny thing is, he died December 10th---Heena's birthday!

One day several months ago I was hanging with Hannah and telling her how lucky she was for having Bob Dylan's birthday. But then I said I had Otis Redding's, which is pretty cool if not cooler. And we got into this little thing about who's better...but you can't really compare the two. Dylan's voice isn't that great, but no one gives a damn because of those phenomenal lyrics. Redding may not always sing about the social issues or have the best lyrics...but that's not even the important part, all we care about is that damn voice!

I don't want to mention anything about my birthday. There are so many expenses this year. Earlier (weeks ago) my mom asked me about what I wanted to do for my 16th. I said I didn't know. It hasn't been brought up recently, so I don't want to say anything.

But if there's anything I want...I think it's a portable cassette player. I don't do iPods. Other MP3s...maybe. But not anytime soon. Cassette players are easier to carry around without having to hold them.

I saw this really cute Spongebob one. Yeah, it's meant for kids, but it's bloody adorable. I saw it on Amazon, brand new for $11.95 + shipping and handling, $16.98. I want that sucker.

The problem is finding places that commonly stock cassettes. In terms of music media, there are places for people that actually want to buy their music the modern way with CDs. There are TONS of places for the vinyl enthusiasts that buy nothing else. What about those that still do cassettes? It's not a totally dead medium.
Vinyl is seen a vintage-y cool, Casettes are seen as obsolete. That's bull. In fact, I'd probably rather have a cassette collection that a CD one.

I'm going on a Beatles spree right now. I don't understand how the Beatles are unlikeable. I just don't. There's almost something out there for everyone.

Sigh. I swear, every few weeks I get a Beatles epiphany.

12:42 p.m. - 08/31/08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

avant - ensuite

New.

Keep Guessing

archives

drop by?

Make Friends

Alone.

Wild Card

Buddies.