cleverjello's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This is history, baby.

President Barack Obama.
Sounds beautiful to me.

My God, how I wish I could've gone to Grant Park. Oh, how I wish...

The first president of color. This is not a victory just for America---hell, it's a victory for the world! As one CNN newsperson pointed out, most of the world is black and brown, not white. We have a president to represent THE WORLD.

And I'm just so fucking thankful that I am alive, old enough to live through this and remember everything that's happening. I can remember this history, and share it with my family and friends.

I bought a copy of the Sun-Times today. It had a black and white of Obama, and the caption simply said, "Mr. President". I am saving it, saving it for my future generations.

My mom and I were just having this discussion about how BIG this is.

I know a lot of people that went to the Grant Park rally. My American Lit. teacher, Mr. N_____ went. And he spoke of how he cried, even after the rally. On his way home, on the blue line, he saw this African-American man waving an American flag. The man said,

"This is a great day for me. But it's an even greater day for my daughter."

Mr. N told us that he was thinking of us, his students, while he was at the rally. And he was thinking of our futures and how much would change for us. Right then he started tearing up in the classroom. Hell, he almost got me crying.

I cried when we watched Obama's speech in class though. And I cried when we left the classroom. Fuck. INCREDIBLE.
Anything is possible in America, I am sure of it. Anything is possible. Yes lord. I am so proud to be an American at this moment. So proud.

Never in my sixteen short years of life has anything felt more significant.

And it feels so DAMN good to be a Chicagoan, more than ever before. Chi-town baby!

5:20 p.m. - 11/05/08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

avant - ensuite

New.

Keep Guessing

archives

drop by?

Make Friends

Alone.

Wild Card

Buddies.