cleverjello's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Byrds :: Bells of Rhymney

Man, the weather is a bitch outside, for real.
Since my mom already cashed my check I was going to go to Borders and buy my parents' Christmas gift. And I have a 40% off Borders coupon, so...SCORE.

I've been on quite a few music review sites recently. Through a last.fm friend I became acquainted with the reviews of Brian Burks. He had good reviews, but not as many as a would've liked. Luckily he posted a whole bunch of links to better critics sites, such as John Alroy's and David Wilson's.

Right now I'm reading the reviews of Georgiy Starostin. He definitely knows his stuff, though I don't agree with a lot of his assessments (he said "Volunteers" was an atrocious album, one of the worst of the classic rock era. Unbelievable!). But it's nice to get someone else's insight on music, especially music you haven't heard too much of before. Starostin's got some wit on him too. You would think (well, I would think) since he's Russian then English wouldn't be his first language...yeah, okay. I'm a judgmental prick; so sue me.

I saw this goegous picture of my raven-haired boy one facebook. It looks like he just got out of the shower or swimming pool. He doesn't have his glasses on...it's just a close-up of his face. I think his older sister took the picture. I love it. And I am going to draw it. Whether I'll ever show him, eh. That's up for debate.

Yesterday would've been Frank Zappa's 68th(?) birthday. And
today is Jorma Kaukonen's (Jefferson Airplane) birthday too Joyeux Anniversaires.

Holy crap...I did not know that Kodachrome was by Paul Simon. Well wait. I didn't know this song was the THE Kodachrome.

Ahh, George Harrison. Give Me Love. MUCH better.

Yesterday I saw Exodus. The film about the creation of modern-day Israel. Shit. The ending was sad and made me think about the current state of affairs between Arabs and Jews. 60 years later, has nothing changed?
Stars Paul Newman. With Eva Marie Saint and other folks whose names I cannot bring myself to recall. Good film though. Epic...it was over three hours long, though I prbably missed about 35 or 40 minutes of it.

11:15 a.m. - 12/23/08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

avant - ensuite

New.

Keep Guessing

archives

drop by?

Make Friends

Alone.

Wild Card

Buddies.