cleverjello's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tyrannosaurus Rex :: Blessed Wild Apple Girl

I've developed a new fascination for early Marc Bolan & company. Before Shortened to T. Rex, Tyrannosaurus Rex was this late 60s folkie duo, with Bolan's prime influences coming from Bob Dylan and J.R.R. Tolkien. No, they really were English hippies, with song titles like Blessed Wild Apple Girl and Atahuallpa (My Inca Love). Then Steve Peregrin Took left and Mickey Finn came in, and soon after T. Rex was all, "yeah glam rock!"

I always prefered the acoustic material of T. Rex (Cosmic Dancer, Life's A Gas) over any of the glam rock, so this new interest isn't all that surprising. The onlt thing is that Tyrannosaus Rex is so hard to find. Difficult enough on vinyl, so probably damn near impossible on compact disc. Ay.

Merry Belated Christmas! I spent mine at H_____'s house, with her family, friends, etc. It was hella fun, and I'm actually really happy that I decided to go.

Now that Christmas is over, everyone's focusing on how 2008 is almost over. Fucking hell, this has been one heck of a year, more than makes up for the humdrum 2007.

I went to Myopic Books on Wednesday. Bought H_____'s gift(A Farewell to Arms) and bought myself The Wild Boys by William Burroughs. It's much better than I expected, since I heard all sorts of people saying that it was overpriced and the staff was rude. But I didn't get any of that. I thought the prices were all very reasonable, the workers at the register were pretty friendly. Definitely going back before winter break ends.

I also hope to stop by Armadillo's Pillow, The Loop location of Reckless Records, Dusty Groove America, Jazz Record Mart and maybe Powell's (Lakeview location, not Hyde park.)

1:13 p.m. - 12/26/08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

avant - ensuite

New.

Keep Guessing

archives

drop by?

Make Friends

Alone.

Wild Card

Buddies.